Decision of the FIFA Council on the World Cup among women and youth national teams

The Bureau of the FIFA Council has made several important decisions regarding the upcoming Women's World Cup and World Championships among youth men's teams.

Reportedly official FIFA website, after a very successful World Cup among women in 2019, the Bureau of the FIFA Council decided in the future to expand the number of teams participating in the World Cup to 32. Thus, the international federation continues to promote the development of women's football.

Now FIFA has approved the distribution of passes to the final part of the Women's World Cup-2023 for the confederations. 

Number of vouchers for each of the confederations:

Asian Football Confederation (AFC) - six;

African Football Confederation (CAF) - four;

Football Confederation of North and Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF) - four; 

South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) - three;

Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) - one;

Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) - 11.

In addition, the hosts of the 2023 World Cup - Australia and New Zealand - will receive automatic passes. And their vouchers are taken from the quotas of their confederations, AFC and OFC, respectively. 

The remaining three passes are assigned to the national teams that will play in the playoffs of 10 teams from all confederations:

Asian Football Confederation (AFC) - two;

African Football Confederation (CAF) - two;

Football Confederation of North and Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF) - two; 

South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) - two;

Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) - one;

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) is one.

Participants in the playoffs, selected according to the FIFA rankings, will be divided into three groups (three, three and four teams), and two teams from one confederation to one group will not be able to get. The winners of the groups will advance to the finals of the 2023 World Cup. Note that the hosts of the competition, the teams of Australia and New Zealand, during the tournament will hold friendly matches with teams from groups formed by three teams. 

2021 World Cup among U-20 and U-17 teams

The FIFA Council Bureau has also decided to cancel the 2021 World Men's U-20 and U-17 World Cups due to the coronavirus pandemic. FIFA has decided that the hosts of these tournaments, Indonesia and Peru, should host such competitions in 2023. 

It should be recalled The current world champion among U-20 teams is the national team of Ukraine.

02.02.2021 13:41

FIFA Disciplinary Committee extends SCC and UAF sanctions worldwide

The FIFA Disciplinary Committee reports ...

17.12.2020 21:37

The Best FIFA: FIFA has announced the winners of 2020

Today was the ceremony of ...

18.09.2020 16:00

The 70th FIFA Congress will take place today via online conference

Today in the online conference mode ...

Subscribe to news