Draw of the 2023 World Cup among women's teams: rivals of the national team of Ukraine in the qualifying tournament were determined

It happened today in Nyon the draw for the qualifying tournament for the 2023 World Cup among women's national teams in the UEFA zone. 

Before the procedure, the teams were divided into six baskets according to the current one rankings. The coefficient was: 20% - qualification and final tournament of the European Championship-2017, 40% - qualification and final tournament of the World Cup-2019, 40% - qualification of the European Championship-2022 (only group round, no playoffs). Ukraine with the 20th indicator was in the third basket.

According to the results of the draw, the blue and yellows had to play against the teams of Spain, Scotland, Hungary and the Faroe Islands in the selection group B.

Women's 2023 World Cup qualifying tournament. European area. Group round

Group A: Sweden, Finland, Ireland, Slovakia, Georgia.

Group B: Spain, Scotland, Ukraine, Hungary, Faroe Islands.

Group C: The Netherlands, Iceland, the Czech Republic, Belarus, Cyprus.

Group D: England, Austria, Northern Ireland, Northern Macedonia, Latvia, Luxembourg.

Group E: Denmark, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Malta, Montenegro.

Group F: Norway, Belgium, Poland, Albania, Kosovo, Armenia.

Group G: Italy, Switzerland, Romania, Croatia, Moldova, Lithuania.

Group H: Germany, Portugal, Serbia, Israel, Turkey, Bulgaria.

Group I: France, Wales, Slovenia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Estonia.

Women's World Cup Qualifying Tournament. European area

Group Round

Europe has 2023 direct tickets to the 11 World Cup, another team will take part in the intercontinental playoffs. 

The 51 national teams will play in a two-round tournament with home and away matches in nine groups: three groups of five teams (A-C) and six groups of six teams (D-I). The matches of this stage will take place in the period from September 2021 to September 2022.

Nine group winners will go directly to the 2023 World Cup. The second teams of the groups will continue to fight in the next stage.


The nine teams that take second place in the groups will advance to the playoffs, which will consist of two stages.

The top three among the second teams will have the opportunity to play directly in the second stage of the playoffs. The remaining six participants will compete for three passes in single-match confrontations in the first stage. The three winners of the first round and the three teams that advanced directly to the second stage will determine the three winners of the UEFA playoffs in one-match duels.

The two winners of the second-ranked UEFA playoffs (criteria applied to the results of the group stage plus the playoffs of the second round) will receive two automatic places at the 2023 World Cup, while the third winner will continue his journey in the intercontinental playoffs.


Group Round

1-2 rounds September 13-21, 2021

3-4 rounds October 18-26, 2021

5-6 rounds November 22-30, 2021

7-8 rounds April 4-12, 2022

Rounds 9-10 August 29 - September 6, 2022

Playoffs: October 3-11, 2022.

Intercontinental playoffs: November 7-15, 2022, February 13-25, 2023, and April 3-11, 2023.

Final tournament (Australia, New Zealand): July 10 - August 20, 2023.

2023 World Cup among women. Number of final quotas for confederations

Asian Football Confederation (AFC) - five;

African Football Confederation (CAF) - four;

Football Confederation of North and Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF) - four; 

South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) - three;

Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) - 11.

The hosts of the 2023 World Cup - Australia and New Zealand - will receive automatic passes. 

The remaining three passes are for national teams that will play in the playoffs of 10 teams from all confederations:

Asian Football Confederation (AFC) - two;

African Football Confederation (CAF) - two;

Football Confederation of North and Central America and the Caribbean (CONCACAF) - two; 

South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) - two;

Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) - one;

The Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) is one.

Participants in the playoffs will be divided into three groups (three, three and four teams), and two teams from one confederation to one group will not be able to get. The winners of the groups will advance to the finals of the 2023 World Cup. Note that the hosts of the competition, the teams of Australia and New Zealand, during the tournament will hold friendly matches with national teams from groups formed by three teams.

07.05.2021 13:00

The calendar of matches of the women's national team of Ukraine in the qualifying round of the 2023 World Cup has been determined

The women's national team of Ukraine learned the calendar of its matches in the qualifying ...

Subscribe to news